Out Of The Shadows

Sharing the extraordinary stories of the people who made Spitfires in Southampton.

01 June, 2018 - 01 July, 2018

    Sharing the extraordinary stories of the people who made Spitfires in Southampton

    Did you know that Southampton is the birthplace of the Spitfire?

    Did you know that 8000 Spitfires were built in Southampton during the Second World War? And these were mostly built after the Supermarine Factory at Woolston had been bombed!

    The true story of how these iconic aeroplanes were built is even more extraordinary; requiring at least 26 ‘dispersal sites’ in and around Southampton and collectively employing over 3000 people. This heritage will have touched the lives of all who lived in Southampton during World War 2.

    Out Of The Shadows is a Heritage Lottery Funded Project which seeks to gather and share your extraordinary stories of this time, about Spitfire manufacture.

    NST are taking two vintage buses to the following locations around Southampton:

    • Friday 1st June - Bargate, Southampton
    • Monday 4th June - Shirley Baptist Church, Church St, Shirley
    • Thursday 7th June - Peartree Green Church Hall
    • Saturday 9th June - Riverside Park, Bitterne
    • Wednesday 13th June - Bitterne Precinct
    • Friday 15th June - Hursley Village, The Kings Head
    • Thursday 21st June - Chandlers Ford Methodist Church SO53 2GJ
    • Friday 22nd June - Chamberlayne Leisure Centre SO19 9SJ
    • Saturday 23rd June - Lordshill Precinct, Church Hall SO16 8HY
    • Thursday 28th June - Hamble Village Memorial Hall SO31 4JE
    • Friday 29th June - Woolston, Oakback Road SO19 9DT
    • Saturday 30th June - Shirley Parish Hall SO15 5NS
    • Sunday 1st July - NST City as part of Armed Forces Day SO14 7DU

    Come and tell us what stories you or your family know about this time; browse what we have learnt; see some videos from Solent Sky’s extraordinary collection; and help us reconnect Southampton with its awe-inspiring past! This is the hidden history of how Southampton built the icon that gave hope to the nation in its hour of greatest need. Join us anytime between 11am - 4pm. 

    Find Out More